Marcus Rashford, Alex Iwobi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Dele Alli and Leroy Sane fighting for UEFA award

Updated: September 29, 2016
Non League

After impressing for Manchester United Marcus Rashford along with England teammate Dele Alli, Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi and Manchester City duo Kelechi Iheanacho and Leroy Sane have all been nominated for UEFA’s Golden Boy award.

Rashford burst onto the scene in February scoring twice on his debut in the Europa League against Midtjylland then following up with a brace against Arsenal in their 3-2 win three days later.

He has gone on to score nine times in 16 league games for United and featured twice in Euro 2016.

Iwobi is now a regular in Arsenal’s first team squad after an impressive second half to the season last term in the Gunner’s midfield.

So far this season he has featured six times including Wednesday’s 2-0 win over Basel and the 3-0 defeat of Chelsea on Sunday.

Meanwhile Alli, who made his name at MK Dons, has also been nominated – and to be fair it’s not a surprise. He scored 11 times last season including once during his team’s 3-0 win against Manchester United.

Sergio Aguero’s understudy Kelechi Iheanacho also made the list – he scored in three games straight earlier this season. One of those goals was in the 2-1 win against Manchester United.

The full list of Premier League players nominated are:

Marcus Rashford – Manchester United

Alex Iwobi – Arsenal

Kelechi Iheanacho – Manchester City

Dele Alli – Tottenham Hotspur

Leroy Sane – Manchester City

Ruben Loftus-Cheek – Chelsea

Andreas Christensen – Chelsea

Nathan – Chelsea

Demerai Gray – Leicester City

Marko Grujic – Liverpool

If Rashford is to win then he will be Manchester United’s fourth player to have won the award – the previous winners being Wayne Rooney (2004), Anderson (2008) and Martial (2015). One of the other former winners was Chelsea’s Cesc Fabregas who was a winner at Arsenal in 2006.

Leave a Reply