Manchester City, Leicester City, Arsenal and Spurs now know their Champions League fate!

Updated: August 26, 2016

Manchester City’s boss Pep Guardiola’s faces former club Barcelona and Scottish champions Celtic in the Champions League group stage.

The other side in Group B is German team Borussia Monchengladbach. Realistically this should see Barca and City battle it out for top spot with Celtic and the Germans fighting for the Europa League place.

Premier League champions Leicester go into their first ever Champions League with the decent draw of  Porto, Club Brugge and FC Copenhagen.

Arsenal will be looking to reach the knockout stages for a 13th successive year but have a tricky group with French title winners Paris St-Germain, Basel and Ludogorets – PSG won’t be as strong without Zlatan Ibrahimovic but they are still lively to be a force.

Tottenham return to the Champions League after a six season absence and will play Monaco, CSKA Moscow and Bayer Leverkusen.

Spanish side Real Madrid go into the competition as holders after beating neighbours Atletico on penalties in last season’s final in Milan.

Zinedine Zidane’s side meet Borussia Dortmund, Sporting Lisbon and Legia Warsaw.

Full group stage draw

Group A: Paris St-Germain (France), Arsenal (England), Basel (Switzerland), Ludogorets (Bulgaria).

Group B: Benfica (Portugal), Napoli (Italy), Dynamo Kiev (Ukraine), Besiktas (Turkey).

Group C: Barcelona (Spain), Manchester City (England), Borussia Monchengladbach (Germany), Celtic (Scotland).

Group D: Bayern Munich (Germany), Atletico Madrid (Spain), PSV Eindhoven (Netherlands), Rostov (Russia).

Group E: CSKA Moscow (Russia), Bayer Leverkusen (Germany), Tottenham (England), Monaco (France).

Group F: Real Madrid (Spain), Borussia Dortmund (Germany), Sporting Lisbon (Portugal), Legia Warsaw (Poland).

Group G: Leicester City (England), Porto (Portugal), Club Brugge (Belgium), FC Copenhagen (Denmark).

Group H: Juventus (Italy), Sevilla (Spain), Lyon (France), Dinamo Zagreb (Croatia).

Key dates

  • 13-14 September – First round of group matches
  • 6-7 December – Final round of group matches
  • 14-15/21-22 February – Round of 16, first leg
  • 7-8/14-15 March – Round of 16, second leg
  • 11-12 April – Quarter-finals, first leg
  • 18-19 April – Quarter-finals, second leg
  • 2-3 May – Semi-finals, first leg
  • 9-10 May – Semi-finals, second leg
  • 3 June – Final (Cardiff)

Leave a Reply